Restoration

September 13, 2009

SpringThe page turns, and we have arrived at the end of yet another chapter. Of the many names I struggled to give to this chapter, the most appropriate name would be The Restoration. And that is what I will call it. At long last, the traumas of yesterday have begun to fade into distant memories. I doubt I will ever forget the past, but I have discovered that I need not be bound by it. The tear-stained moments, the gnawing insecurities, the deafening silence that followed… How could I ever forget those dark days?

Yet I discovered that life had a lighter and brighter side to it. There are things that I covet yet may never attain, but I have learnt to count my blessings and therein I find solace. For happiness is found not in material wealth. Sure, money could buy a certain measure of happiness, but only so much. After all, dying alone amid an ocean of money scarcely forms the basis for a fairytale. At times, it is the few friends that I have that keep me going.

From grace I fell, or so I thought. Truly, it was grace that I fell unto.